What I learned about AMQP

I’m playing with AMQP at the moment. I thought I’d start off with RabbitMQ first.

The good:

  • It works.
  • OCaml and Python programs can talk to each other.
  • It works across remote hosts. You need to open port 5672/tcp on the firewall.

The bad:

  • RabbitMQ and Apache Qpid use different versions of AMQP and are not interoperable! Good summary of the mess here. This might be resolved when everyone gets around to supporting AMQP 1-0, but even though that standard has been published, no one is expecting interop to happen for at least a year.
  • You can’t cluster different versions of the RabbitMQ broker together.
  • Even if all your hosts are at the same RabbitMQ version, you have to open more firewall ports and make changes to the start-up scripts. (Dynamic ports? Really? Did we learn nothing from NFS?)
  • Long, obscure Erlang error messages which don’t point to the problem. eg. You’ll get a good 25 lines of error message if another process is already bound to a port.
  • Possibly just a Fedora packaging problem: I managed to get my host into some state where it’s impossible to stop the RabbitMQ server except by kill -9, and after that I can’t start or stop it.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “What I learned about AMQP

  1. I learned and presented a small presentation about AMQP. These days, I’m a fan of ZeroMQ for extremely fast cross-language queueing. However, it doesn’t seem to like disk, so I’m considering the sexy, fast and functional Redis for this. Have fun!

  2. Have you taken a look at kamaloka-js? It is only 0.10 not 1.0 yet and I don’t really have time to maintain it but it allows you to use any 0.10 compliant AMQP server though orbited relays and it is pure JavaScript. I would even be up for fixing bugs if you ran into them.

    https://fedorahosted.org/kamaloka-js/

Leave a Reply

