RHEV-M 3.0 beta part 2

To get access to the RHEV-M 3.0 beta, you must have an active Red Hat Enterprise Virtualization subscription. Go to this RHN page to see links to the beta channels. See this page for discussion around the beta. This is the official announcement.

I received the 2 x HP microservers and the 8 GB RAM upgrades today. Although I don’t yet have the disk upgrades (expected next week) I can make a start installing standard RHEL on one of the servers. I’m going to install RHEV-M into a virtual machine on this first server, but I can’t install that yet without the disk upgrade.

Performing the memory upgrade is relatively simple. Once about 5 cables are removed, the motherboard slides right out:

Because these machines have no CD drive, I used PXE to install RHEL 6.1 (on the first server only):

For clarity, this is what I’m expecting the installation to look like right now (I may change my mind in future though …)

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “RHEV-M 3.0 beta part 2

  1. Frank Ch. Eigler

    Hey, remember to get those HP servers while you can, with HP appearing ready to leave the PC business.

  2. Tim Potter

    It’s a pity they don’t seem to support IOMMU, at least according to what random forum posters on the Internet say. On special down under too, maybe a new model coming out?

    Might get one anyway to replace the aging MythTV box.

    • Tim Potter

      (Full disclosure, I’m a HP employee but not involved with hardware servers).

    • rich

      “It” being HP microservers? I’m not sure if any AMD processors support IOMMU. Here are the cpuflags anyway:

      flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 ht syscall nx mmxext fxsr_opt pdpe1gb rdtscp lm 3dnowext 3dnow constant_tsc rep_good nonstop_tsc extd_apicid pni monitor cx16 popcnt lahf_lm cmp_legacy svm extapic cr8_legacy abm sse4a 3dnowprefetch osvw ibs skinit wdt nodeid_msr npt lbrv svm_lock nrip_save

  3. I got wind of these HP microservers from a RH Virt SA, after some research I decided I didn’t want to be locked with HP for my personal LAB hardware, so I opted for SUPERMICRO MBD-X8SIL-F-O motherboard that comes with Remote Management, I scrap my desktop replacing the motherboard, memory, cpu. So far no issues, just installed RHEL 6.1, the remote management works great on Fed15 running 32bit Firefox with Sun Jre javaws.

    # Upgrade
    1 x Intel Xeon X3430 Lynnfield 2.4GHz LGA 1156 95W Quad-Core Server Processor BX80605X3430
    4 x Kingston ValueRAM 4GB 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 ECC Unbuffered Server Memory Model KVR1333D3E9S/4G
    1 x SUPERMICRO MBD-X8SIL-F-O Xeon X3400 / L3400 / Core i3 series Dual LAN Micro ATX Server Board w/ Remote Management

    # Salvage from desktop
    1 x SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold ((SS-650KM Active PFC F3)) 650W ATX12V V2.3/EPS 12V V2.91 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Modular Active PFC Power Supply
    1 x ZALMAN CNPS9500A-LED 92mm 2 Ball CPU Cooler
    6 x TOSHIBA HDD2K11(MK1059GSM) 1TB 5400 RPM 2.5″ SATA 3.0Gb/s Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive
    2 x ICY DOCK MB994SP-4S 4 x 2.5″ HDD in 1 x 5.25″ bay SAS / SATA Hot Swap Backplane RAID cage
    6 x Nippon Labs Premium 18″ (1.5 ft.) SATA II Cable with locking latch for SATA I and SATA II Hard Drive Model SATA-L0.5-R
    1 x Thermaltake V3 Black Edition VL80001W2Z Black SECC / Plastic ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
    1 x LSI Internal SATA/SAS SAS3081E-R 3Gb/s PCI-Express 1.1 RAID Controller Card, Single

    • rich

      Just looking at the parts list, that is going to be way more than £250 (or £150 with the rebate). I don’t understand your point about being “locked [into] HP” since these machines use entirely standard parts and are cheap enough to be disposed of if they get too old or break down.

  4. What I mean is I like the flexibility of a custom build, and I just assumed with a HP build, I wouldn’t be able to swap out parts for whatever reason. As to my parts list, the most important item is the motherboard the remote management, you could strip it down to match the HP, but I know, the HP Microserver at $324.99 is hard to beat. I hoping to do much more with this system, with multiple nics, I want to try running a iscsi target then see if I can create a iscsi storage domain. I haven’t given the setup much thought yet, so I’m sure if its even technically possible to have a host as a target and initiator, given everything is written to /var/lib/iscsi. Most likely I will end up with a HP microserver.

Leave a Reply

