Four reasons I hate BT

  1. They take 5 days to enable a line into my house, even though the line already exists, is a BT owned line, and has a dial tone already. Literally they don’t have to do anything except press a button on their computer.
  2. The broadband provider can’t begin the process of LLU on my line until BT presses that button. And that’ll take another 5 days. There’s an obscure process called USWARN which is supposed to avoid this delay, but BT don’t tell you about this when you order a line, and they won’t give you a USWARN code after you’ve ordered it.
  3. They didn’t start running fibre to the home or curb 15 years ago when it was obviously going to be needed. Worse still they’re not even doing it now.
  4. 21CN. “21st Century”. Come on, please. An excuse to raise prices on their monopoly, barely any movement towards 100MB connections which large parts of the developed world already have.

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “Four reasons I hate BT

  1. I started renting a property this year and I set up the line with BT, as the new account holder.

    They said it would take about two weeks to activate or something like that and gave me a date at which it would be active and my new phone number, saying the number might change but probably not.

    On the date I phoned up the house on my mobile to see if the line was active and it would ring, it didn’t. So I phoned BT and they said they couldn’t give me my own phone number even though I could tell them everything about myself and the newly opened account because of data protection laws — I know a lot of companies find data protection laws hard to deal with but it was BT being stupid here.

    On a separate point, I think you’re quite right about the bureaucracy of BT and the non radical 21CN which will undoubtedly be late and expensive.

  2. Gordon Dunlop

    I gave up with BT a long time ago. I went with Virgin Media where I get 20 Mbit/sec during the day, but it is reduced during the evening period due to peak demand, and is cheaper including phone line than BT (£30 pm incl). The great thing about Virgin is that as long as you use the same router the I.P address is fixed (IP based on MAC address) enabling myself to run a CentOS server with virtual machines (non-commercial) via wireless. Getting 14 Mbit/sec on a wireless virtual machine. I am going to upgrade to 50Mbit/sec now.

  3. quintela

    Just if it makes you fill better: Here it costs 5€/month to have a fixed IP. No, it is not a joke😦

  4. mbooth

    21CN is causing us no end of trouble. We have systems talking to remote outstations over PSTN, and since the introduction of 21CN, we’ve a whole lot more call failures. I reckon it’s lossy compression that results from the digitisation and packetisation of analogue call data that’s causing it.

    It’s crazy. The process is effectively:

    Local PSTN modem: Digital–>Analogue
    Enter 21CN: Analogue–>Digital
    Exit 21CN: Digital–>Analogue
    Remote PSTN modem: Analogue–>Digital

  5. So, can you get cable where you are? My 20Mb connection is rock solid!

    H
    http://www.thehermesproject.com

  6. Just spoke to 3 people when ordering the phoneline – not one of them knew what an USWARN number was despite our wholesaler explaining that this is standard stuff!

Leave a Reply

